One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Human life expectancy has been increasing at a rapid rate thanks to the advancement in medical care, which means that we can now expect to live much longer than our ancestors just a few generations ago. While longevity could be disadvantageous to some degree, I personally believe that this phenomenon brings more benefits to both individuals and society.

On the one hand, people can reap some benefits from longer lifespan. As for individuals, longevity promotes the harmonious relationship among family members. Many parents sacrifice most of their life to their offsprings. Therefore, when people live longer, it will be an opportunity for their children to return the care and show their filial respect for their parents. In terms of society’s benefits, longer lifespan allows people to contribute more to the world with their talent and wisdom. Many prominent scientists and scholars and other elites died with regret that they could not accomplish their plan. For instance, Marie Curie, who was an illustrious physicist and chemist. Her findings in her scientific research are great contributions to medicine, such as the treatment of neoplasms using radioactive isotopes and X-ray. If she could live longer, there might be more contributions to the science world.

Nonetheless, I firmly believe that be disadvantages of longer life expectancy of human beings outweigh the merits. Firstly, human longevity is one of the primary causes of overpopulation, which results in catastrophic environmental issues. Undoubtedly, a growing population leads to increasing demand for resources, such as coal or gas. This, consequently, causes climate change due to large amounts of carbon dioxide emitted into the air, which is now the most alarming environmental concern. What’s more, aging population puts a huge financial burden on society. The rising proportion of elderly people means that a larger amount of national budget must be allocated for pensions and healthcare. A prime example is Japan, which is home to the oldest citizenry in the world with 27% of its population being 65 years of age or older. It is projected that by 2025 health care spending in this country will rise 70 percent, nursing home care by 160 percent and pensions by 40 percent.

In conclusion, although increasing lifespan may have some good points, I reckon that this phenomenon is much more harmful in the long run.