Some people believe that online newspapers will one day replace traditional print newspapers completely. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, with the growing popularity of online information sources, it is often believed that the printing press will be no longer suitable for the new area. Personally, I completely agree with this belief since both readers and journalists can benefit from virtual newspapers.

Firstly, audiences can enjoy great convenience from reading online newspapers. Online news is ubiquitous and easy to get access to since people just simply need a smart phone or an iPad and internet connection to read the news at their own convenience anywhere. By contrast, when reading physical newspapers, the reader has to buy them every day, which is really time – consuming. My father, for example, has a habit of reading a newspaper every morning before going to work. In the past, he had to go to the nearest newsagent which was three kilometers away from home, taking him 30 minutes to buy his favourite newspaper. However, with the popularity of newspapers on the Internet, he now can utilise that amount of time to read more news around the world at home instead of going to the newsstand.

Secondly, the development of virtual newspapers makes journalists become more independent. It is obvious that with online versions, journalists can post news on their own websites instead of having to submit to the editor and then wait for their news to be published. An example is Hoang Minh Tri, who is a journalist on Facebook. Besides being a contributor to many prestigious online newspapers, such as VnExpress and Thanh Nien Online, he also posts many articles on education, business and social life on his personal Facebook page. His articles attract many readers’ interest and they are shared widely on this social networking site. Now he is a very popular and respected journalist and writer, who has more than 70 thousand followers on Facebook.

In conclusion, with the advantages brought by online newspapers mentioned above, I believe the traditional printing press will be soon replaced by the online versions.