Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Recently, the phenomenon of waste recycling and its corresponding impacts have sparked a long-running dispute all around the globe. In this regard, apart from the necessity to decline industrial wastes, a proportion of the world’s population are of the opinion that more practical laws which must applied by governments are needed to force households recycling more wastes. In my mind, laws can have remarkable benefits on this matter.

Obviously, the majority of societies tend to obey the laws rather than breaking them. To rise the amount of waste which could be recycled, authorities should legislate useful rules to separate wastes at the site of people’s houses, and so the recycling process can become relatively efficient and far easier.

Furthermore, by applying taxes to the houses’ rubbish, governments can push families to walk in the right path, that is not only making them to create less wastes but also, they struggle with recycling more wastes as mush as they can. These tax policies even have the opportunity to take greenhouse gas emissions into account.

On the other hand, we shouldn’t lose sight of incentives. It is likely that, as virtually all aspects of human concerns, money play the most significant roles as a motivator. For instance, people can receive back a proportion of their total purchase, through delivering a certain number of plastic bottles or package cartons. Furthermore, families will be encouraged to produce less litter or recycle more wastes if governments discount their energy bills regarding their wastes.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on necessities of wastes recycling, I am inclined to believe laws alongside motivations as cogs of recycling machine will work smoother. Imagine, you are fined due to a can!