Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In this day and age, despite the alarming status of the environment, recycling is still an unfamiliar activity for many families. Some people argue that laws and policies should be enacted by local authorities to tackle this existing issue. As far as I am concerned, I wholeheartedly concur with the statement, given some crucial benefits that are going to be discussed in the essay.

First, by looking into the current recycling habits of families, it is indisputable that household disposals are being sent to landfills without the essential conduct of recycling. This is massively due to the lack of compulsory requirements for individuals to implement such unfamiliar activities. Moreover, many people consider recycling as a voluntary action rather than a citizen’s responsibility, which leaves them with no need to take up recycling. Therefore, if governments make recycling a legal demand, individuals will be more likely to take part in reusing household appliances since they are obliged to do so.

On the one hand, it is not to abandon the major benefits offered by recycling. First and foremost, with the deteriorating living conditions, recycling would probably act as a pivotal approach to gradually curb the serious effects of global warming and hamper the worsening pollution. Hence, by publishing policies ordering citizens to recycle, officials and politicians will meet the urgent demands to save and protect the environment. In addition, these legal requirements, when combined and applied radically, greatly contribute to the global efforts and international commitments of keeping the world a habitable planet for the upcoming generations.

To conclude, the need to bring recycling into the legal circle is out of the question since it produces a shift in people’s attitudes toward the perplexing environmental problems as well as reinforces united actions to protect the world as a whole.