Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is widely claimed that recycling household waste is not as enough as it is needed. Many people believe that governments are the only responsible one for increasing the recycle process by considering some rules. I strongly believe that strict laws and rules can be really efficient for rising recycling in every society as people would be recycle more of their rubbish by being forced to obey rules and being more aware of recycling.

To begin with, approving laws about recycling is an effective measure to convince individuals for paying more attention to this issue even if they do not believe in the importance of recycling. Since most people fear from consequences of breaking laws such as serving a sentence or paying fine, they try to obey the rules. Although many people do not care about waste of their home, if some rules oblige them to follow some instructions for ease of recycling, they namely would do them and after a while it would become one of the concerns of the society. To illustrate it, when fastening the seat belt while driving was not compulsory, many people did not care about it, nor did they ignore their careless acts hazards, but after the laws which made it compulsive, it has been one of the habits of drivers.

Moreover, introducing laws for making recycling legal would lead to more educational schemes for increasing the awareness of society about recycling. While governments pass a rule, they would consider some basis acts including advertisements in media and streets, giving some leaflet to people and training courses in schools for educating people. These acts can make people aware of how important recycling is and can teach them what responsibilities they have. For example, advertisements and courses for driving laws can be seen everywhere these days and it has had a great impact on people.

In conclusion, to rise the amount of recycling for waste, governments have the key role by introducing some rules to make it legal since they can force people to do a lot for recycling beside the educational plans which would be done for rising awareness of the society.