Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued that, increase in purchasing common products among people is a result of powerful advertisements rather than the reality of requirements. I strongly agree with the point of view, as individuals implement a wide variety of products with same functions as well as harmful ones without any attention to the consequences.

Nowadays, many people become really influenced by commercial breaks and spend a great deal of money on products which do not have any new aspect for them, while they may have already had other same products. This is because of the main concern of advertising industries that is introducing the product as an absolute new and unique one and overwhelming about the innovation due to convincing the customers for buying it to improve their profits. For instance, although new versions of mobile phones do not have major differences compare to latter version, many try to change their cell phones, even if they have bought it recently, since they are being influenced by vast advertisements.

Moreover, the growing sales of products which are harmful for health shows that people pay more attention to the advertisements, since the drawbacks of goods are not mentioned, nor are the disadvantages shown as the advantages points. To illustrate it, despite all damages of cosmetic products for hair and skin, the number of its users who are impressed by advertisements is growing rapidly, regardless of the bad results may they have.

In conclusion, the power of advertisements is the significant issue in growing the sales of popular products among people who do not care of their requirements.