Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of the waste?

In recent decades, it has been argued that waste reduction has been receiving a great deal of media attention around the world. However, some people believe that families have not recycled enough their household wastes which may lead to governments should come up with environmental regulations to make them pay more attention. I believe that there are still workable solutions that can be applied for individuals and the government to enhance the environment although environmental laws still play a vital role to make the requirement for the waste reduction.

It is possible that individuals take action without legal requirements to overcome environmental issues. In order to minimize daily wastes and to alleviate the environmental problems in the long term, children should be well-educated to distinguish between non-recyclable and recycled products. For example, young adults need to learn how to separate all waste into different bins and apply waste management in practice at secondary education.

On the other hand, it cannot be denied that laws are an important factor in raising people awareness about waste management. Indeed, governments should do more than simply introduce an environmental policy to inspire some fear among the public. For example, extra taxes should be applied to non-recyclable products such as batteries, food contaminated containers because of their harmful effects on the environment. Furthermore, governments could also expenditure on environmental facilities and systems so that whether or not individuals could separate waste effectively in public.

In conclusion, to my mind, there is not the only solution that government adopts policies on increase recycling. Perhaps the government and individuals do need to take responsibilities to cut down unnecessary waste.