Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In recent years, household waste recycling is a moot issue and a lot of arguments could be observed among people regarding whether people should spontaneously take part in recycling process or government should make it a legal obligation. While I agree that new legislation to force people to recycle could help this situation, I believe that setting a law is not only measure that government should take.

On the one hand, a new legal provision would be one possible way to tackle the waste problem. This law might be added to the rights and obligations of a citizen in the country to encourage and prevent misbehavior of recycling. For example, government could establish a law for householder to separate all garbage into different bins and people who fail to adhere to this law could be punish small fine to community service. In addition, while we have strict laws and punishments for behaviors that lead to environment pollution such as deforestation, governments should have clear rules for recycling that is a convenient and easy protecting environment process.

On the other hand, I believe that governments should do more than introduce a law. Knowledge of recycling can be put into education as an after-school subject for students. For example, children who learn about recycling and the environmental impact of household waste have higher conceive than other. Beside of that, the government should encourage services and advertisements that support the utilization of regenerative materials and accommodate customers with renewable productions.

In conclusion, the legal obligations are necessary to encourage household waste recycling. While laws are enforcement, other factors such as education, advertisement and services should be encourage to people to dispose of their waste more responsibly.