Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is sometimes argued that paying a visit to museums or art galleries is a time waster when the emergence of the Internet is revolutionising the consumption of arts and history. Although the advances of technology, in my opinion, might turn the two subjects into a booming industry, the former cultural institutions still are irreplaceable.

To some extent, I agree that people nowadays can be offered excellent experiences in surfing, finding, and watching any types of art and historical exhibitions online. In fact, online galleries and museums are now becoming popular when they provide a more effective way of cultural consumption than the traditional ones. For example, VR and AI can assemble actual objects of arts and history in many interesting ways. Also, websites and online presentation not only enhance the experience of tech-savvy visitors, but offer an equally free access to arts and history for either low-income or high-class group of people in society.

On the other hand, I believe the traditional exhibitions of art and history cannot be replaced by the integration of technology and contemporary cultural consumption. Firstly, only by visiting those places can people have hands-on experience on the masterpieces and unique historical objects which impossibly are fully-tasted by online exhibitions. Secondly, it offers a great opportunity for tourists or visitors to meet and discuss with local experts who should provide non-searchable and worthy information. Finally, museums and art galleries are a vital destination to encourage social interaction while the Internet has a strange way of making us isolated. Connecting with members of family and friends, meeting new people in public, engaging in conversational topics are only some of indispensable benefits that museums and exhibition centres are surely to provide.

In conclusion, while the advancement in technology has made a great contribution in promoting arts and history to the public, I believe museums and arts galleries still offer visitors valuable resources and experiences that you cannot acquire from the Internet.