Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others contest those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit.

What is your position? Discuss both sides in your response.

It is argued whether the authorities or the owners themselves should have the power to design the construction of a new building in huge cities. This essay will discuss both point of view and the reasons why I believe that the owners of estate should be authorized to plan freely their architectures.

On the one hand, a city can be more fascinating if citizens can design their own buildings without restrictions. One of the main reasons is that most people incline to find the best architect whom they can hire with available budgets. Hence, more innovative and beautiful architectures will be created by those architects who try their best to fulfill their client’s expectation. For example, it is this freedom that the genius architect, Gaudi, could introduce the magnificent designs of those churches, privet apartments and gardens to Barcelona in Spain, making the city one of the most attractive place for tourists.

On the other hand, some habitants believe that officers should monitor the designing of a building’s construction to prevent irresponsible designers to construct unsafe architectures, which may danger the people nearby and in the building. However, in my opinion, no one can guarantee that every designer or supervisor from government is responsible vice versa; the best way to solve the safety dilemma is regulating the owners and the designers to take full responsibility even after the construction is built. For instance, the council can formulate a law that the victims of any accident related the building could acclaim compensation from its owners and designers.

In conclusion, there may be the risk on safety issue if the owners can design freely their buildings; nevertheless, the risk can be controlled through proper regulation. Additionally, the freedom of designing their architectures gives the owners motivation to find the best architect, contributing to a more fascinating and magnificent city!