Some people find that following a strict routine allows them to feel more in control. Others, however, think that constant changes to the routine make life more interesting and less predictable.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and/or experience.

People often approach life in different ways. Some prefer doing things routinely as it offers them more control in life. While others want to change things every now and then to make life more exciting. Personally, I prefer constancy in my professional life while maintaining spontaneity in my leisure life.

By practicing routines, one is able to master their job and gain the ability to anticipate any complications. For instance, any deviation from the normal practice will alert one to check for mistakes, therefore, allowing errors to be troubleshoot early before it becomes a bigger problem. Thus, routine practice is a check and balance system that enables a person to feel more in control at the workplace.

Although the former system provides an efficient working habit, in other aspects of our life, approaching it in the same manner, may feel tedious. Even the most pleasurable activities, if done this way, may start to feel old and uninteresting. On the other hand, lost interest can be renewed if we approach old things in a different light. For instance, regular exercise is a difficult lifestyle to maintain but, by incorporating fun elements such as music and dance, people are able to cope up and continue being active. Hence, by approaching life in a variety of ways, we are able to keep our spirit high and keep our motivations going.

To conclude, I find that routine practices are helpful in minimizing mistakes and enable us to work efficiently. While changing things constantly affects other areas of our life positively by renewing our energy and keeping our life more interesting.