Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Many argue that learning a second language is only important for purposes of traveling or working overseas while some say that there are other motivations why one should study another dialect. In my opinion, being fluent in another language help builds good personal and international relationships.

On one hand, it is practical for travelers and migrant workers to learn a country’s native tongue. It is hard to communicate to colleagues regarding work progress or ask directions from local people if one does not understand what you are saying. For example, in giving reports to your superiors, it is important that one should be able to clearly give details and information using a language that everybody understands. Also, if in trouble in another country, it is difficult to ask help if you do not know how to express yourself. Thus, it is important to familiarize oneself with their language before deciding to go there.

On the other hand, learning a foreign tongue may serve another purpose aside from these practical reasons. For instance, it helps visitors understand other people’s culture as well as their customs and traditions. Also, if everyone is speaking a common language, it minimizes the risk of misunderstanding and thereby prevents aggression. Another reason is that it cultivates respect between different nationalities and learning it signifies interest in building relationships.

In conclusion, learning a second language is not only important in traveling or working abroad. I believe that we should strive to learn each other’s language because it is a powerful tool that can help us understand each other better as well as build relationship whether local or international.