Government should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There are a lot of problems associated with rising number of vehicles on the roads. Hence, many believe that public officials should invest more budget in building an effective railway system rather than making more roads. In my opinion, this is a proactive move that can help nations in the long term.

First, building more rails will allow the possibility of making trains as our primary mode of transport. Trains, compared to other public transport vehicles, are much faster and able to bring a large number of people to various destinations. Second, they can also be used to deliver consumer products more effectively especially those that are time sensitive to some foods and produce. Lastly, they are more environmentally friendly because they leave fewer carbon footprints than cars.

On the other hand, building fewer roads spare lands, trees and forests that are often sacrificed to make way in constructing highways and streets. Thus, lands can then be converted and use for other means, like building more farms or allotting more space for residential and commercial use. Also, this may limit the rising number of cars on the roads which have been proven to contribute to the worsening problem of climate change. Lastly, building roads are expensive, thus government can save more money by investing more in railways.

In summary, building more railways offers a viable solution to problems brought about by proliferating vehicles on the roads. It is a much faster, more effective and environmentally friendly means of transporting people and goods. Thus, politicians should consider the possibility of investing more money in developing our railway system and promoting it as a primary mode of transport.