Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choice on everyday matters (such as food, cloths and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believes that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While it is thought by many that if children get the freedom of making choice about their daily matters like eating, clothing or pleasurable activities can create a society of selfish individual, other people consider involving the children in decision making about their matters has a huge positive impact. In my opinion, I believe that children should get the opportunity to express their choice which will build a society of creative and responsible individual in the future.

Children are by nature selfish. So, some people believe when they will get the full liberty of choosing everyday stuffs, naturally they will be adopted to it. The reason behind this is if a child gets everything he or she likes, the demand will gradually get higher. Therefore, at some point, This, will give them the essence that they can get everything they want. Another point to consider is that children raised in this way are lacking the capacity of thinking about others. For instance- these children will not learn how to share toys with others and the meaning of cooperation at all. As a result, ultimately this will result a society of individual who will only think about them.

On the other hand, others think that to take part in decision making is an essential part of childhood learning and I completely agree. When a child participates fully regarding some matters which can affect their life later like career, education, hobby etc. this can promote creativity, inner development and help reducing fear. A clear example would be- a child who likes to draw or sing, if get encouragement from surrounding, can be a great artist or singer in later life. Another area to focus is these children will grow up as responsible citizen of the society, able to take difficult decision in need of time. Thus, society will eventually benefit in the long run.

In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion on whether children should take part in decision making or not, I consider in order to make a society full of creative and responsible citizen, children need to get involved in this process.