Because of the busy pace of modern life, many children spend most of their time indoors and have little exposure to the natural world.

Discuss the effects lack of experience with and understanding of nature can have on children as they grow up. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

It is true that nowadays, children prefer staying at home watching television and playing video games instead of spending their time exploring and discovering the outside world. Many believe that this trend can have some detrimental effects on a child’s growth and development, some of which will be discussed in this essay.

Firstly, most of the knowledge kids gain on nature are usually based on what they see and hear on multimedia platforms. Thus, they are not able to experience firsthand the wonders nature has to offer. This can dampen their interest towards nature and can lead to a non-caring attitude. In a time where climate change is at hand, the younger generation needs to be more involved in order to ensure that succeeding generations will continue to enjoy the world the same way we did.

Secondly, being indoors lead to a sedentary lifestyle which can negatively impact their health and make them at risk to certain medical conditions like juvenile diabetes and childhood obesity. In contrast, engaging nature is a good form of exercise which not only strengthens their muscles and bones but also enhances their immune system, hence, making them more equipped to battle infections and certain illnesses.

Lastly, kids who play outdoors are able to interact with other children and develop their communication and social skills. In this way, they learn are more capable of interacting and expressing themselves to other people.

In conclusion, lack of exposure to the natural environment can have a negative impact on a child’s mental, physical, emotional and social growth. Parents, therefore, should encourage their children to play more outdoor activities and limit their use of devices to assure a balance overall growth and development.