Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford.

What are the reasons for this behavior?

What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

consumerism lifestyle grows among the people. They purchase unnecessary and overpriced goods using a loan from financial help companies. this essay will address reasons causing this issue and propose solutions that the government ought to take to prevent consumptive habit in the community.

Plenty of reasons explain why people in today world become more materialistic. First of all, people purchase unnecessary luxurious goods as they follow a certain lifestyle. For example, people buy brand-new gadgets because of their social circles own similar products. Thus, they will not feel left behind in the current trend. Secondly, banks provide financial assistance such as credit cards with low interest or even interest-free. This encourages cardholders to get unaffordable items as they could pay an instalment for a certain period.

There are suitable remedies which can be done to deter the public from this way of life. Firstly, the government should educate the people in terms of gravest problems led by consumptive lifestyle. For example, the government have to install the billboards nearby department stores conveying messages to stop purchasing high price unessential items. As a result, this would increase public awareness. Secondly, the government should issue strict policy regarding credit card application requirements. Those who come from low economic class should be forbidden to apply for this mode of financial help as it could make them having the bank loans.

To sum up, I believe that consumerism practices in the community is caused by the way of people live and easy access to economic assistance, and to solve this issue, the government should continuously remind the community regarding the bad consequences resulted by this lifestyle as well as propose a better regulation in terms of credit card ownership.