Some people that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Nowadays there is an opinion that governments should make a law that will require people to recycle. This opinion has appeared due to a low proportion of recycling compare with existing rubbish.

It is clear that recycling depends on people mind and their personalities that have been being formed during their life. Solving the problem has to base on this statement. It eventually can lead to make requirements. Because if people have an obligation, they will be changing their mind. If one generation has been changed, it will impact on future generations. For instance, the government in Russia is fighting with smoking and as part of this fighting the government has restricted places where people can smoke. This decision is affecting humans and leading to more healthy new generation.

On the other hand, it is crucial to notice that this type of solving the problem is radical and must be used at the last time. Despite the effect of this solution, there are lots of other ways of solving the problem. It is more important to explain to people the benefits of using recycling and integrate this explanation into school education. For example, there was an experiment that took place at a Kazan school. Teachers had to explain why smoking is bad for the humanity. Results of this experiment are an unbelievable success. Most students who graduated this school do not smoke.

To conclude, it is important to emphasize that making the obligations is really effective, but it is radical at the same time. People should find a softer solution, because of the main reason of the problem is people consciousness.