Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and

avoiding change. Other people believe that change is a good thing.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Every person has a different attitude towards change. While some people prefer to live

their lives with as little disturbance as possible, others crave change and new

experiences. In my opinion, a balance of new and familiar situations is the ideal.

Many people prefer to conduct their lives in a way that avoids change. These types of people may choose to live in the same city their entire lives, choose one job or career path and follow it until they retire. For example, I have a neighbour that has lived

in the same house since his childhood, became an art teacher, and stayed in that job for the entirety of his working life; his career choice was conducive to his preference to avoid change. This type of lifestyle is comforting to many people as they know what to expect

each day; there are few unknowns and the maps of their lives are predictable and reliable.

Other people, however, thrive on change. These people may move to different cities and countries to experience new cultures, living environments and job opportunities. They may find a life without change unexciting and stifling. And many

jobs cater to the desire to experience new settings. Journalists, travel writers and pilots are some career paths that might be chosen by those who enjoy change. Too much

change, however, can be unsettling.

My opinion: In my opinion, a balance of change and reliability is the best way to live. Much comfort can be derived from having a home that is familiar and where friends and

family can provide support. Occasional travel and change, however, provides new experience that can be refreshing, educational and enjoyable.

In conclusion, I believe that some stability is important for a grounded lifestyle, but I also believe that some change makes for a more interesting life.