Some people say that all young people should have a full-time education until they are 18 years old. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

An educational issue of modern societies is whether or not students should be required to stay in school until eighteen, with conflicting views on which option is the better one. One opinion states that academic institutions should continue to encourage their students to earn a graduation diploma before leaving school.

Advocates of this believe that gaining fundamental knowledge and demonstrating it on a certified degree means being able to meet recruiting requirements of the ever-increasingly competitive job market. If an applicant holds a diploma, he may land a steady job with a decent salary, rather than making a living by doing labor-intensive manual work. Besides, having full-time education will ward off any social factors which might negatively affect the psychological health of the young person and eventually break study concentration.

However, there are pitfalls that have not been considered by this viewpoint. Tuition fees can be a financial burden, and it can trigger a chain reaction among young people coming from a poor background. Those students might find it tempting to drop-out and seek a part-time job to support their families. The expensive cost of university education and taking out a large amount of loan may further discourage students from continuing to study.

From a personal perspective, governments had better make high school graduation at 18 optional. There should also be financial-aid options for those are in need, for example, by hiring pupils to work on campus. For those who excel at learning, finishing school earlier than 18 should be allowed.

In my opinion, focusing on educators to enforce study is too narrow of an approach and would not have the desired results. The more effective way would be to look at other aspects of life apart from education.