Some people say that art subjects such as music, drama and creative writing are an essential part of education, and every school should include them in its syllabus. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The question regarding school education and what it should comprise has always been highly debatable. It is argued that dramatic art, music lessons and creative writing ought to be part of schoolchildren tuition plan due to their paramount importance. I completely disagree with this statement and believe that the above-mentioned subjects are not comprehensively beneficial to children.

First of all, the listed subjects require a degree of creativity, which the majority of people lack. This means that unlike mathematics and biology, art subjects should not be indispensible part of a school program since a few pupils are capable to relate themselves to them. Therefore, including such unpopular disciplines would not be advisable for academic schools. For example, in Russia the government opted to attempt such a policy with religious education which happened to be a disaster among students and their parents. In other words, schools have to serve as a tool to educate and supply humans with applicable knowledge and they should not hold any prerequisites.

Secondly, in current time most individuals are fascinated by advances in technology. Proceeding from this, due to computerization, an abundance of youngsters prefer to select physics and mathematics over art disciplines. Hence, the latter carry no applicable value and provoke little interest in young people. For instance, according to the Word’s Bureau of Statistics the most high-paying jobs are among one connected to Internet Technology (IT). Thus, the pupils’ incentives and desires to obtain a lucrative occupation in their future are explicitly clear.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that art subjects possess and adverse effect on the young owing to their impractical nature and high initial requirements in terms of talent.