Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Currently, it is a controversial issue in terms of improving public health whether building additional sports amenities or requiring other measures. In my opinion, there are strong views on both sides, which I will outline now.

On the one hand, some people consider that there should be extra methods required to improve public health. For one thing, in modern life, environmental deterioration affects directly to people and undermines their health such as water and air pollution. In addition, with more constant greenhouse gas emission, the number of people faces lung cancer is five times higher than they did ten years ago, for example. Governments, therefore, should encourage citizens to use car-sharing programs or public transport instead of private cars. As for water pollution, factories should install waste treatment systems to avoid discharging toxic chemicals into rivers, which has detrimental impacts on the habitat of marine creatures and the health of people.

On the other hand, some individuals believe that providing numerous sports facilities is the most effective way to enable everyone to stay healthy. To clarify, there is a significant sum of money invested to build luxurious sports centers and supply cutting-edge sports equipment. Hence, this creates an opportunity for the public to do exercise. For instance, exercise lovers work out after a hard day at work to relieve stress and keep in good shape, or teenagers and elderly people love going to the gym in their free time at sports amenities to build up their stamina.

To sum up, besides building mainly more sports facilities, I agree that it is more critical for measures from governments and factories to be adopted, for it can help people maintain their health and protect them against the negative effects of environmental pollution.