Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is some dispute whether adding sports equipment would enhance the general health of citizens. This trend have both merits and drawbacks which will be elaborated below.

On the one hand, there are unarguable benefits attached to providing free access the public with sports devices. The first rationale in support of this view is that the local are likely to take advantage of the available facilities rather than spend part of their income on the gym. This would save sports enthusiasts certain amount of money in order to invest in other priorities. An additional point is that entry to public exercise equipment would encourage the young to participate in physical activities. This helps ameliorate impacts of popular sedentary lifestyle, and supply these youngster with spots to socialize. Finally, given recreational areas expanded, local inhabitants are given oppotunities to broaden their social circle and a sense of social solidarity. Thus, local people are the most benefficial when the authorities allocate to sports equipment in public areas.

Conversely, sometimes funding for public facilies is misspent and lack of maintenance would result in degration and depletion of these equipment. Purchase of unneeded devices and disregard the local demographic may lead to ignorance of local individuals to these free of charge facilities. To illustrate, it would be wasteful to install treadmill in neigborhood where mostly inhabitants are the elderly. More importantly, without the regular care of responsible individuals, the exercise places may be torn down very quickly that is a waste of public resources.

In the light of these facts, availbility of open public devices would save people's financial resource from gym expenditure, negative impacts from modern way of life and support communal lifestyle. However, the public revenue could be wasted and equipment could be damaged without appropriate maintainance. In my opinion, any attempt to raise physical health of the general public should be credited.