Some people say that the best way to improve public health is to increase the number of sport facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measure are required.

Every few years, the World Health Organization (WHO) runs a survey to assess the level of life expectancy in various countries all around the globe. One of its key parameters is public health. This fact solely shows that communities’ health is of vital importance, due to its direct tie to productivity and public expenses. The more a country’s population becomes healthy, the more workforce efficiency and the less medical costs are expected. However, the major question is, whether it could be provided only by improving sports facilities or not. This important issue is a place of a dispute between the two groups. I intend to put this contentious subject into the debate in terms of two groups’ points of view.

There is no doubt both parties of discussion are unanimous on the importance of public health improvement; Nevertheless, they split on “How?”. A group of people believes that the advancement of sport areas and facilities like swimming pools, gyms, etc. is the only way to refine the citizens' health condition. Although the other group says it is a generally good idea but is not enough. Owing to there are so many other factors e.g. air quality, nourishment quality, lifestyle, and so on, which have the same amount of impact, in not more effective, for every member of society. Recently, I have read an article in which scientists had investigated what indicators have a remarkable impact on everyone’s health condition during its life span. Results had shown two dozen factors e.g. social life, amount of connection and exposure to the environment, and alcohol drinking habits among many others could influence your life quality. This scientific paper has given me the impression that if any government aims to have a healthy society, it should provide so many circumstances along with sports facilities and amenities.

Overall, having compared both points of view, obviously reveals that a good solution to boost any community’s wellbeing factors should comprise more than just building a bunch of structures. In my point of view, this attitude without considering other elements can do more harm than good, because should the health budget centralized in the sports sector, the other parts will suffer from neglect. As a result, adopting a comprehensive and integrated approach could be the master key and panacea for tackling this very area. There is more to this subject than meets the eye, and I only could scratch the surface in these few minutes.