Some people say International sports events help in world peace. Do you agree or disagree?

From ancient Greek to modern age, athletes have been always adore by society. Although the primary focus is to celebrate athletics prowess, the Olympic games and Wold cups have an incredible power to engage nations together and stop international conflicts.

Firstly, many sport events happening on regular timetable in different host countries. Even though sport events focus on athletic performance, rotating location across the Globe promotes cultural understanding within nations. People from around the world travel to the destination of sport event and undoubtedly are exposed into local culture. As a result, many sport fans can better understand different traditions and opinions, furthermore, they will more likely to return back.

Togetherness is another are of concern. Some people may oppose that sport events put together only fans and rest of the public remain aside. However, I would argue that when national team make it to the semi-final or final, most of the population, despite, sport is not their main interest, huddle in pubs or home in front of their TV and thrilled watching a live streaming. Take Czech republic for example. The Olympic games in 1998, in Nagano, when national Czech hokey team played final match with Russia, casual life in the country stopped; almost everyone in Czech watched the match home, at work or together with strange people on the town squares.

Last but not least, sport events in history till now have had an incredible power to stop local or international conflicts. People of any nation celebrate their athletes and for a while stopped the fights. In fact, every Olympic games, even during the Second World War for fortnight stopped all armed conflicts.

In short, not only sport events makes nations to celebrate together and make them proud of their national athletes, but they also appear to stop armed conflicts. Therefore, I believe that international sport events promote world peace.