Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

With immense progress made in the development of economy as well as technology, numerous buildings are being constructed in every single second, while causing a great damage to the environmental system, which leads to a growing concern.

There is a prevailing view that the extinction of some particular species of plants and animals should be the primary problem we need to tackle. As every single species plays a crucial role in terms of ecological system and the disappearance of any of them is prone to entail a disaster, there is no doubt humans have to save preserve a number of rare animals. For example, the reproduction of many flowers relies heavily on insects such as bees. If human’s intervention eradicates one of these creatures, the flowers’ reproduction might be significantly influenced in a negative way, perhaps resulting in a fast decline of their population.

Some may contend, however, that some environmental problems are much more essential than preserving several species of plants and animals. The most significant and well-known environmental problem led by deforestation and massive uses of fossil fuels is global warming, which could affect everyone’s life directly, for instance, temperature. Since the rapid rise in average temperature can incur the increase of sea levels, a catastrophe, therefore, can occur in the foreseeable future, leading to millions of homeless people, if no power intervention is implemented. In addition, large use of fossil fuels also causes the air pollution in some specific regions, and long-time exposure to such condition can induce sever diseases related to lung.

From my personal perspective, the measures need to be implemented to not only the conservation of rare species but other serious environmental problems, because either of these can have extremely harmful impacts on human society and the nature.