Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While it is said that the extinction of special species of plants and animals is a crucial environmental issue, I agree with those who believe that there are other momentous problems which are of the greater importance to the environment.

On the one hand the extinction of some plants and animal species can have negative impact on ambiance. For example, a reduction in the number of trees is not only can reduce the absorption of Carbon Dioxide and emission of Oxygen, but it can also decrease the heat generated by greenhouse gases emission which can lead to global warming. In addition, animal species play a major role in stabilizing the ecosystem. For instance, some wastes need to be eliminated for a stable and sustainable wildlife which is done by animals and their absence is more likely to have disastrous consequences.

On the other hand, I believe there are other environmental problems which can be a serious threat to our wildlife. Climate change is one of those issues. For example, changes in rainfall patterns or melting ice caps may lead to flood or drought which can in turn bring lots of harmful problems to people`s life. Water shortage is another important environmental concern mostly caused by human activities. Not knowing the correct method of using water such as separating drinking water consumption from other uses and not wasting water for unnecessary things like bathing, washing clothes or dishes and so on, people can have a major impact on this issue. The third significant problem is air pollution, which is increasing dramatically these days and is known as the most important cause of human diseases and caused by an increasing the amount of fossil fuels consumed by cars and other destructive activities such as burning industrial wastes.

In conclusion, although it is said that disappearance of some animal and plant species can be a serious danger to the environment, I strongly believe that other problems mentioned above require more consideration.