Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others said that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, the staggering issue of environmental pollution has always been a hot topic with its ramifications. While some people believe that the loss of natural species including animals and plants is the main problem, others argue that there is a barrage of more significant ones. From my point of view, although the species loss is an emergency, I am of the opinion that humans should worry about other more serious problems.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why the decrease in animals and plants is believed to pose detrimental threats. The first thing to notice is that the continuous loss of flora and fauna can trigger the lack of ecological diversity. When the number of animals and plants keeps falling, that species will soon become endangered and leave huge damage to the natural environment. Take the bamboo trees as an example, it is after their loss on a large scale in China that pandas have less food, which results in their death. Sooner or later, the natural diversity will be in danger. Furthermore, the loss of species will cut the resource for medical and life uses. Many animals including chimpanzees or monkeys have contributed greatly to the invention of life saving drugs. Without them, scientists will have to face the hurdles in science as well as citizens will lose their medicines and their food.

On the other, there are myriad environmental problems that I believe deserve the attention of the public. The first thing worth considering is the global warming. As the temperature keeps increasing in an unprecedented level, the lives of humans together with animals are threatened directly. For example, the heat waves have brought drought to the agriculture, caused death to several species in the poles, not to say the diseases that humans have to suffer. Similarly important, people need to be aware of the low quality of the atmosphere. Due to the air and water pollution, they are under dangers of losing fresh air and becoming susceptible to respiratory problems. In this sense, without doubt, humankinds will die out.

In conclusion, while the loss of flora and fauna species causes certain level of hurdles and problems, I am convinced that the environment is fraught with more severe dangers, including the greenhouse effect from global warming and the worse air quality.