Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss bother these views and give your opinion.

Opinions regarding the consequences of environmental issues are divided. Some claim that the severe loss of vegetation and wildlife need to be prioritized, while others contend that there are more adverse effects on other problems such as natural disasters. I agree with the latter that natural disasters are worth worrying about. However, the disappearances of plants and animals are the issues at which people need to consider.

It is understandable why people believe that catastrophic natural disasters are strongly linked with climate change. With the increasing temperature, specifically the oceans, the occurrence of tsunamis, hurricanes, and so on has frequently happened in the last two decades. Take a supporting example, one need look no further than the 2004 tsunami that occurred in Malaysia and Thailand which is extremely destructive. The frightening tsunami resulted in thousands of deaths, injuries, and the loss of billions of dollars, the effects of which turned those two developing nations back economically for years. Thus, this example bears testimony to the drawbacks of natural disasters, which are primarily caused by global warming and climate change.

In addition, the reason why many people, including me, believe that the loss of plants and animals is due to the increasing numbers of endangered species in recent years. Wildlife has a crucial role in balancing the ecosystem and is also known as a source-contributor to people’s lives in several aspects, namely industry, economy, and basic needs. However, environmental issues, for instance, deforestation has heavily destroyed the ecosystems, leads to the impoverishment of vegetation and wild animals. Take a look into the aforementioned issue, people’s overexploitation has resulted in reducing numbers of trees, wildfires. Consequently, the extinction rate of animals increased rapidly, as there were no homes and sufficient food to maintain their lives.

In conclusion, while I agree that a worsening environment leads to unexpected disasters, I still believe that the dropping in numbers of plants and wild animals is extraordinarily serious and needs to be put into consideration.