Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Environmental factors like plants, animals, humans, water resources etc. play a vital role in maintain the balance of the ecosystem. Therefore it is necessary to protect all other factors to maintain the ecosystem as well as the survival of species living in the world.

Loss of a particular species of plants or animals not only creates environmental problems but also disturbs the food chain of the ecosystem. For example, if goats are endangered or extinct then it will affect the food supply of carnivores. As carnivores are dependent on goats, their extinction will create a scarcity of food supply for them. Also as goats are herbivores, they are dependent of plants and grass. Therefore this will affect them too. There neither won’t be any replenishment of these plant species nor there will be any population control. This can seriously affect the environmental cycle. Hence it is necessary to protect species of plants and animals.

Apart from animal and plant species other factors are also necessary to support the environmental system of the world. For example pollution, global warming, population control etc. also contributes in maintaining the ecosystem. Increase in pollution leads to increase in global warming which subsequently affects the natural environment. For instance, melting of ice, depletion of ozone layers, increase in health issues and many more. Melting of ice increases the sea level which can cause flooding, depletion of ozone layer can affect the balance of oxygen in atmosphere etc. Therefore it is important to resolve these problems too for the survival of all the species in the world.

According to me, not only the plant and animal species but also other factors are important as they contribute in their own way for maintain the ecosystem of the world. Problems like pollution and global warming cannot be ignored as they have direct effect on all the creatures.

Hence it is necessary to protect all the species of plants and animals and other problems should be resolved for the survival and maintenance of the food chain, ecosystem and environment.