Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Environmental issues are the hot topic of discussion in today’s world. The statement has provided two views. First, loss of species is considered to be the most imperative damage to the environment. Second, there are lots of other issues important than this. This essay discusses about the two views and also states the inter-dependence of one view on other.

First, damage to environment has led to loss of biodiversity including some exotic plants and animals. Plants and animals are considered to maintain the ecological balance. If the number of plants and animals are affected, it will lead to detrimental effect on the environment. For instance, if the tiger goes extinct the population of deer will increase drastically and this will in-turn lead to decrease of plants in that particular area. This area will experience global warming as the number of plant decreases. In this way the ecological balance will be disturbed and will have deleterious effects.

On the other hand, some people argue that there are other issues more important than loss of biodiversity. The issues like discharge of nuclear waste in river, burning of fossil fuels, etc also possess threat to environment. But these issues again lead to loss of biodiversity. Discharging waste in water bodies will lead to loss of aquatic biodiversity and will give rise to ecological imbalance. So, both the statements are inter-dependent on each other.

To sum it up, the two statements are equally important and both will have hazardous consequences. In my opinion, damage to environment in any way is completely unacceptable. The two statements provided complement each other.