Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There have been heated controversies over environmental issues. While some people believe that the most concerning factor is the reduction in the number of species, others point out some other serious problems which deserve higher concentration. Although there is some compelling evidence for the first clause, from my perspective, the latter makes more sense.

First, on the bolstering side, supporters of the former statement highlight the seriousness when losing particular plants and animals. It is indisputable that the rapid loss of flora and fauna can lead to some unexpected outcomes, which negatively affects the life of both human and creatures. To be more specific, the reduction in the number of plants can act as a detriment to wildlife animals, obscuring the growth of biodiversity and threatening wild species in terms of their food sources and natural habitats. For instance, with a significant decline in the number of bamboos, pandas are likely to suffer from starvation or even extinction if the situation gets worse. In addition, human is also a patient of species loss. For example, the disappearance of trees can result in a concerning rate of carbon dioxide within the atmosphere, which negatively affects the air quality and living conditions.

However, on the other hand, opponents of the aforementioned statement believe other issues to be more considerable, given the consequences that they offer. First and foremost, it is widely known that the average temperature is climbing steadily due to the effect of uncontrolled industrial activities. This urgently requires international unity to take collective actions in order to curb the negative influences of global warming. Moreover, pollution is another pivotal issue that opts for immediate solutions. To put it simply, the exceeding rate of carbon emission is exploiting the natural atmosphere and causing daunting respiratory illnesses such as cancers. Therefore, it is plausible to say that there are more concerning environmental problems apart from the loss of floras and faunas.

To sum up, while it is conceivable why people evaluate species disappearance to be the center of attention, I still believe that other burning issues deserve special focus from the public.