Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Other say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are many threats which are influencing our environment in a negative way. However, some people may argue that the main issue right now is the extinction of specific kinds of animals and plants. On the other hand, other people believe that there are more important issues related to the environment that we should be concerned about.

Without a doubt, a variety of different species is necessary for the ecosystem. Imagine if a certain plant will not grow anymore, then all of the animals which feed on this specific plant will lose their source of food. Result in, extinction of that animal as well, and this chain would go on. Also, we humans are getting our food from these animals and plants, so keeping these species alive is crucial for surviving.

However, there are issues that are more critical that need more attention than looking after endangered species. First, with the increase in factories and cars, we are moving closer and closer to global warming. Needless to say, if we do not prevent the factories from the emission of toxic fumes, we will not only face the increase in temperature, but also this would affect animals and plants negatively. Also, there exist some specific kinds of animals and plants which can not survive in a natural way. As a result, keeping them alive requires a massive amount of energy and money which could be expended on a more important cause.

In conclusion, there should be a balance between the importance of an issue with the amount of effort that has been put into it. Wasting money on projects such as keeping an animal alive, which might be impossible, is not a good idea. However, spending this money on a more serious issue could be more helpful.