Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or working a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.Discuss both these views and give your o

Although it can be argued that travelling or working in a foreign country is a unique reason to learn a second language, I am of the opinion that there are several reasons why learning a foreign language is necessary.

On the one hand, it is acceptable that people learn foreign languages to allow them communicate with others who use these languages. It is a mandatory skill that employees have to learn before landing an oversea job. Without this skill, it is hard for them to meet the employer’s requirements and compete with the local. Moreover, they have to suffer the harassment, but could not complain. In additionally, a foreign language is useful for visitors when travelling to another countries. It helps them to communicate with the local people to understand deeply about the culture, history and cuisine of these countries. Also, people are likely to avoid to get lost in a strange country which they visit.

On the other hand, I would be inclined to argue against this as I believe that there are many reasons to learn a foreign language besides for travelling and working. Scientists point out that it is good for children to study a second language as soon as possible, which enhances the learning and thinking ability of children. Furthermore, we are living in a flat world where people would like to connect with others around the world. With a foreign language, people are able to find the online friends, even their soulmates who comes from different countries. Also, it is beneficial for who learns a second language in order to expand their networking and pursue their careers.

In conclusion, learning a foreign language is essential to travel or work in a foreign country. However, it also necessary for many aspects such as improving children’s ability and connect with others around the world.