Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or working a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people consider learning a foreign language is needed to do aboard traveling or working in oversea, but other opinions said that it also have other benefits. In this essay, I would describe both of these views.

To begin with, the only reason why people want to study a new language for taking a trip or getting employed aboard is because they need to be capable of communicating with the local people. People in my country find jobs in overseas without any preparation of speaking skill because they think body language is good enough. Thus, almost all of them struggle in misunderstanding and not often they got harassed by their boss. Additionally, even for traveling which usually temporarily, the basic conversation is needed such as ordering food, asking for direction, going to the market and so on. Again, the local people also would respect to us because of our effort to speak their language.

On the other hand, there are two reasons why learn a new language is important. First, to explore overseas’ culture. These are good to know about the unique of them. Therefore, we could learn and accept the differences. They usually could be found in foreign movies, songs, and books. For example, Korean movies are very popular nowadays, because they are showing us how their traditions, food, and history. Second, be able in foreign vocabulary is a good exercise for the human brain. Some research revealed that people who have bilingualism had significantly cognitive abilities. Also, people’s memory would improve greatly and brain aging would be slowing because it is taught by new words and sounds. That change would grow their self-confidence.

All in all, this might be true that people mainly learn a foreign for visited or working in abroad. Personally, it gives many advantages like better cognitive skill and understanding cultural abroad. Therefore, it would be better if people provide little time to learning a new language.