Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or working a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.Discuss both these views and give your o

Recently, the number of people learning a foreign language has increased on an unprecedented scale. Some society members allege that the true explanation to acquire another language is travelling or working overseas. Contrastingly, others assume that these are not the only reasons justifying second language acquisition. There are cogent arguments on both sides, which will be discussed in detail, followed by my own perspective on the matter.

It is true that people eagerly tend to become familiar with a new language for either occupation or travel. To clarify, globalization has left a far-reaching impact on the economy of all nations and tremendously promoted the growth of multinational companies. While the number of working individuals rises, the demand to study all four skills of a foreign language will double. Accordingly, if people intend to visit a new country, they have to practice basic conversations in the target language to communicate with the locals whenever possible.

Nonetheless, travelling or working is not the only reason why many are trained for. First, students urgently feel the need to study foreign languages because many degree programs make this process of learning mandatory. As the students learn these languages, they can perceive and appreciate cultural diversity. Society members, moreover, are motivated to acquire a foreign language since many professional careers in the United Kingdom and Australia require IELTS or TOEFL certification.

In conclusion, although some of the reasons are travel or work-related, other justifications are purely personal or recreational in nature. Admittedly, I believe that making too much effort to acquire a second language will be more appreciated for either academic or professional purposes.