Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or working a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.Discuss both these views and give your o

"To have another language is to possess a second soul." Language is an easy way to communicate our ideas and thoughts with others. It helps us to interact easily. But there are some issues which remains irrevocable and as complex as ever. One such issue here is of learning a foreign language. The given topic asserts that whether foreign language is used; either for travelling and work or to polish our cognitive skills? There are cogent arguements on both sides, which will be discussed in detail, followed by my own prospective on the matter.

It is true that people eagerly tend to become familiar with new language either for work or travel. Globalization is becoming a main reason for this trend. People are going to different multinational companies for work and to adapt the environment of these companies or to fulfill their demands, leaning of foreign language is must. In addition to this, one has to understand the basic conversation of that country. While travelling, foreign language is needed for ordering foods, asking for the directions, and for any other help. The local people of that country will also respect those, who made efforts to speak their language.

On the other hand, people also learn foreign language to explore their knowledge instead of occupation or travelling. They believe that learning a foreign language is a good exercise for their brain. Moreover, If a person knows more languages than he will be respected by the others. Secondly, learning a foreign language is becoming mandatory in many schools. Children has to learn their native language as well as a foreign language to enhance their cognitive skills. The best epitome of this is India, where English language is compulsory to learn in all schools.

Nevertheless, weighing both the options, I believe that there is no single conclusion; still, I take this ground that an effective clap require both use of hands. So, it depends on person to person, whether he wants to learn a foreign language for travelling and work or for any other personal reason.