Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the phenomenon of learning foreign languages and its corresponding impacts have sparked a massive dispute. Apart from various reasons to learn other nations’ languages, a remarkable number of individuals are of the belief that finding a job in other countries or making a trip to new foreign places are the most significant factors. In my view, learning foreign languages must have more important motives, say, literature and information exchange.

Obviously, nations have their own specific cultures and so literatures, based on those cultures, vary around all the globe. Thus, for being familiar with many distinctive sources of literatures among different countries, we should learn their languages. Likewise, to spread literature masterpieces of other nations like novels, historical poems, and essays throughout our country universities develop several disciplines particularly on translations. Therefore, educating high-quality translators is another considerable factor to learn other languages.

Moreover, scientists around the four corners of the planet, convey remarkable number of studies and make various discoveries almost every day, however these findings and discoveries are published such languages as English, French, and Germany. By learning these foreign languages, researchers find the ability to exchange their information with each other. Consequently, learning foreign languages paves the way to move the science borders a bit further.

On the other hand, we shouldn’t lose sight of naysayers’ views. They claim that traveling to and finding a job in other countries are the only incentives to learn their languages. Notwithstanding the fact that this group highlight the economic related aspects of learning other languages, traveling may include wide range of aims from spending time for pleasure in foreign countries to studying in a foreign university.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on both sides, I am inclined to believe that the purposes of learning a foreign language are far beyond finding a job or traveling to other countries. Meanwhile, what is the aim of some prodigies who have the ability to speak and write more than 10 languages?