Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or to work in foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As globalization and integration between nations around the world have become a new trend in recent years, learning another language beside mother tongue is the most effective method to involve in such international progress. It has been a common topic of debate whether holidays and occupation are the only reason for acquiring a foreign language or there are other explanations for this trend. Although both views are valid, I wholeheartedly agree with the latter statement.

Traveling and working abroad is claimed to be the only reason why people gain a foreign language by parts of the society. To begin, in terms of traveling, learning another language can give people the key to access cultural diversity. This is mainly because language is the reflection of culture and tradition, when having the acquisition of languages, it is simple to understand the local expression and stories such as fairy tales and mysteries. Regarding jobs, learning another foreign language makes way for accomodation of a higher income. The example can be recorded easily when comparing candidates with or without the IELTS certificate. It is undoubtedly that those who acquire a high level in English tend to be assessed for a higher position.

In contrast, there are numerous advantages associated with this trend explaining why people should prepare another language. First, it greatly benefits those who are taking an overseas course. By having the second language in advance, they will stand a good chance of being offered a scholarship with reduction of tuition fees. Moreover, a year of learning local language will not be compulsorily required. Alongside with learning, teaching foreign language can bring back significant benefits. This case is very popular recently as teachers of a foreign language are often respected and prefered to have a better salary.

In conclusion, while many people belive that acknowledging another language is only for the purposes of traveling and occupation, i suggest these are inadequate because it affects people on almost every aspect of life.