Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Language is the most important means of communication between people. Few people claim that studying a foreign language is only required if they want to travel to that foreign country or for any occupation purposes. Some individuals suppose that studying a foreign language does not stick to only a few reasons which are aforementioned. This essay will discuss the reasons for learning a foreign language for which many people have different perspectives.

A small number of people think that studying a foreign language is only useful when we travel to or work for that country. These people consider that traditional language or the mother tongue of their country is of the highest importance. They always educate the students of their state or country in their own mother tongue. For instance, these people believe that learning a foreign language may lead to a decrease in the demand for traditional language. So, they are against foreign language and suppose that it will be necessary only if one travels or moves to that country for work.

According to some people, studying a foreign language does not have only a few reasons. Now a days, English became the most important language for studying. Moreover, all the schools have made it mandatory to speak only in the English language. Studying a foreign language also helps to communicate with the strangers. Many of the Foreign-based companies are established in India for example, Google, Microsoft whose main mode of communication is English. These days it was considered that studying and speaking in English reflects one’s Professionalism. Many people also have a desire to learn and speak in different languages and want to be a multi-linguistic person. These are some of the other reasons why a foreign language should be learnt.

In my point of view, I believe that learning or speaking a foreign language need not require any special reasons such as moving to that country for any purposes. Studying a foreign language without any reason is also regarded as beneficial as we will be confident enough to face any part of the world.