Some people say that parents have the most important role in a child’s development. However, others argue that other things like television and friends have most significant influence. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that many people believe that the children can be affected by their parents during the growth. While some people think that the influences from other people are more important, and I believe that both of these two factors weigh the same on influencing the children.

On one hand, some people think that parenting can have more effects on children. Kids are born to be nurtured by their parents and are keen to learn everything to build connections with the world. Therefore, parents are the first teachers and set examples on how to behave by interacting with surroundings. By imitating their parents, children’s way of thinking and habits related to routine life are likely to be similar with that of their parents. It should be easy to spot parent’s characters from themselves. For example, I prefer to cook home rather than dine out, which is an impact from my family as this is a family tradition of cooking and having meals together.

On the other hand, I accept that other aspects could also play roles into growing stage of the kids. Firstly, the friendship established with the friends from schools are the closest emotion bond from outside of the family. It is obvious that the kids are prone to take advice from their mates and discuss about the secrets that they might want to keep from their parents, especially at adolescence. Secondly, children may be profoundly affected by how teachers impart a great deal of knowledge and cultivate them to explore interests. In addition, children would have more chances to become intellectual, if they were guided by teachers to form a habit of reading and thinking independently.

In conclusion, both of the impacts related to parenting and schooling are crucial for the healthy growth of children, neither of them should be treated as irrelevant.