Some people say that to prevent illness and disease governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that it is crucial for the government to reduce environmental contamination and address housing issues to improve public health. While such measures can deter some diseases among urban citizens, not all, I still believe that healthy lifestyles and rich nutrition would be more feasible ways to prevent illnesses and diseases.

Mitigating problems related to the environment and housing can undoubtedly improve public health. In reality, air pollution is a major reason for several respiratory diseases such as asthma and lung cancer, particularly in densely populated urban areas. Therefore, implementing strict regulations and promoting cleaner energy sources can mitigate air pollution levels, ultimately preventing such diseases and improving citizens’ health. Similarly, inadequate housing conditions, including overcrowding and poor sanitation, create a breeding environment for infectious diseases. As a result, ensuring affordable, safe and hygienic housing can lower communicable disease risk and boost overall well-being.

However, illness and diseases can stem from various factors, mainly poor nutrition and inactive lifestyles, and not solely from such issues. Chief of these is sedentary lifestyles among individuals. These days, many young people are more likely to engage in computer-screen activities, such as video games, online conversation rather than physical activities, making them more susceptible to obesity and vision problems. Moreover, according to the medical report, poor nutrition contributes to stress, fatigue, and inability to work. It even promotes the risk of developing some illnesses and other health problems such as high blood pressure, heart disease and stroke, depression. Therefore, encouraging regular physical activity and educating individuals about balanced diets can have a significant impact on disease prevention.

In conclusion, although addressing issues involving the environment and housing can prevent diseases related to these problems such as asthma and respiratory aliments, I still contend that promoting active lifestyles and raising awareness about a balanced diet and reasonable nutrition would be more effective measures to improve public health. Additionally, I am convinced there will be less sickness and aliments once these measures are implemented.