Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that authorities should pay more attention to the decrease in environmental pollution and housing problems in order to avoid illness and disease. From my perspective, I totally agree with this statement, described in the following essay before the conclusion is reached.

To begin with, there are numerous health problems that are caused by the environmental conditions. For example, annually, manufactories release a large number of hazardous gas emissions into the air, posing a serious threat to the entire world, which causes citizens to cope with a number of diseases. Thus, the government should make use of its power to require manufactories to install proper emission control systems. This would be a great contribution to the environment.

However, not only poor environmental conditions but also depends on various factors. For instance in my country, Vietnam, many people live in slums and do not have opportunities to access clear water because of a lack of a purified water factory. In these areas, people often suffer from diseases, such as dengue and malaria. So, the government also has to allocate its national budget to these places, such problems could be avoided. In addition, in order to have a better result, the authority should make education a top priority like running classes on how to prevent disease. This would enable raising people's awareness about avoiding illness.

In conclusion, the environment has always played a vital role in human health, so the government and each individual must do everything to protect as well as allocate funds to other things in order to prevent diseases effectively.