In many countries, people now wear western-style dresses such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, with the advance in technology and the internet, people have easy access to western cultures, so most of the world's population have a tendency to wear western-style clothes such as suits and jeans instead of traditional clothing. In my opinion, this phenomenon, albeit somewhat advantageous, is associated with far more glaring drawbacks.

On the one hand, following western-style clothing engenders more benefits. Firstly, due to the various western clothes, citizens could easily mix and match them with other items, such as t-shirts or jeans. This enables them to look more fashionable and become more confident in front of other people. Secondly, a number of teenagers become famous on social media, like Facebook or Instagram when they post photos or videos in western clothes since this also helps other people how to mix different clothes. Because they are well-known on the social platform, they have often received advertising contracts from western clothing companies, which allows them to enhance their living standards and climb the career ladder.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that dressing in attire influenced by western fashion is problematic to some extent. To begin with, the marketing and advertising industries are flourishing all around the world, and therefore a variety of well-known and foreign clothing companies bring their products to many customers and any part of the world. As a result, most of the population is influenced by western-style dresses, which leads to traditional attire stores having to fire their staff in order to survive, contributing to thousands of unemployed people. This also adversely impacts the local economy.

In conclusion, while there are decided benefits to wearing western clothing in terms of looking fashionable and turning their life around, I am of the opinion that the downsides of this trend, including unemployment and economic decline, are weightier.