Sending criminals to prison is not a good method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people point out that offenders should be provided with education and vocational training instead of being imprisoned. I partly agree with this idea because while those who commit petty crimes can receive education and vocational training, serious criminals deserve to be sent to prison.

On the one hand, education and job training can be good ways to support minor criminals. The first reason is that further education programs provided offenders with a number of valuable lessons, offering them an increased awareness of unlawful acts. This allows them to avoid committing crimes repeatedly. Furthermore, the government is expected to provide petty crimes vocational training, which will help them to get a job and reintegrate into society after being released from prison, and therefore they can gain respect from citizens. If the offender is not authorized to attend education or job training programs, they would continue to re-offend in criminal activities.

On the other hand, it is imperative to put violent criminals into prison. Firstly, the authority is supposed to isolate major crimes by means of sending them to prison, which will deter them from keep doing illegal acts. This could ensure the safety of society. Secondly, these harsh punishments, such as longer prison sentences, might reduce the proportion of offenders. This helps the government to save a huge amount of money and human resources in the supervision and feeding of prisoners.

In conclusion, education has always played an indispensable part in human lives and turns one's life around but it is only proper for petty crimes. The dangerous criminal should send to jail in order to increase the safety of society.