Some people say that punishment is the best way to teach children to behave well, while others disagree and point out that rewarding and praising them is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the sense of today, there has long been a subject of debate on which one is a better teaching method: punishment or reward and praise. Some believe in the power of punishment which can rapidly decrease a child’s rate of misbehaviors. Others, however, disagree and point out that using praise and reward wisely is much more effective. In this essay, I will discuss the issue in detail and state my opinion.

To begin with, punishment has been considered as a common way for parents and teachers to discipline children for generations. To some extent, punishment is simply the discouragement of bad behavior. This method can solve the problem quickly by making children scared and bring satisfaction to parents and teachers when seeing the kids pay for their wrongdoings. Later on, the kids will remember the lessons since the cost people pay for their mistakes makes the lesson they learned memorable. For instance, if a child is caught telling a lie, the parent will cut down on their pocket money. That is how the child is informed that their behavior is not acceptable, and then knows what not to do in the future. Moreover, punishment teaches the kids how to be responsible for their actions by helping them acknowledge the consequences. The type of punishment depends upon the type of mistakes children have made. There are various ways such as seeing children pick up their drops, clean up the graffiti they drew or apologize to someone they hurt. However, parents and teachers should try to explain and listen to the kids' reasons before deciding whether they deserve the punishment.

As held by the opponent of the debate, praise and reward is believed to be a more effective way to reinforce good behavior. First of all, praise nurtures children’s confidence by showing them how to think positively and be gentle with their mistakes. For example, when a child performs badly on their study, teachers or parents should be tolerant, try to add descriptions and expand on the positive feedback, this gives the child a direction of where they should focus their attention. Thus, the child is more likely to repeat behaviors that ears praise or encourage. Later on, a reward for their good grades is needed since this shows that their efforts will always be worth it and then they are likely to repeat behaviors that earn praise or encouragement. Secondly, it can also improve the relationship between parents or teachers and children. A child being raised in empathy is expected to express love and sharing to the people who always understand and give them a chance to fix their wrongdoings. I prefer praising and rewarding children to punishing as long as parents and teachers know how to use it properly and moderately. I strongly believe that a child who is treated in a nonviolent and tolerant family is more likely to become a kind-hearted person in the future.

To sum up, both punishment and praise have pros and cons but parents should try to look for the times when a child is behaving in positive ways, and start to praise the child’s behaviour.