“Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to.

How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environment?”

It is true that tourists cause detrimental impacts on destinations they visit. In this essay, I will address the reasons of this and suggest what visitors could do to alleviate their harm on local cultures and environment

To begin with, tourism develops at the expense of the environment. Taking the cutting down tree as an illustration, to make place for building hotels, restaurants and so on, the local government is likely to destroy forest. And this could destroy the local ecosystem thereby leading to several environmental problems. Furthermore, tourists have a tendency to litter when there is no recycle bin, this does not matter to them since they do not care about local areas. Instead, it can threaten local inhabitants

Despite some detrimental impacts which stem from tourists, there are several positive things that tourist can do. First of all, tourists should raise their awareness of the environmental preservation through proper waste disposal before leaving their holiday destination. They have to look after the areas they stay and obey to its rules. Second, visitors try to avoiding going to a destination which is overcrowded. This can promise the minimization of air pollution in that area. Finally, tourists could use the environmentally friendly items when traveling in order to give a hand to protect our green shelter.

To sum up, the major environmental issues stem from human activities. However, it is beneficial for us raise our awareness of environmental protection especially protecting tourist locations and local environment.