Some people say that you can learn about another country by watching television programs and films about it than by actually visiting it.

How true is this statement? Is there anything you can learn about another country by visiting that you cannot learn by watching programs and films about it?

In the today’s society, with the advancement of technical television programs and films could allow anyone to broaden their horizon about other countries through a screen. Despite the merits of this phenomenon, I personally believe that there are plenty of wonderful things which we could gain by exploring the countries in actuality.

To begin with, TV shows and movies provide a lot of useful information about other nations in terms of cultures, activities and behavior and so on. By watching some Hollywood famous action movies, for instance, we could understand about the law of gun control in the USA in comparison with the eastern. Citizens in there are likely to easily purchase a gun as a tool to protect themselves and for personal use. Furthermore, sitting on a room and viewing the world through a TV screen would enable us to surely save a great deal of time and money.

Nevertheless, I believe that all information cannot obtained by solely watching TV or films. People could not get their own experience regarding to human interactions, the atmosphere in reality without visiting these places. To illustrate, we can get understand the traditional festivals in some Western countries through watching but we fail to comprehend the real emotion and atmosphere in there. We have to physical contact directly with the local inhabitants to have a good grasp about their cultures as well as their daily activities and behaviors.

To conclude, while I accept that we could gain a great deal of knowledge about other countries through TV programs and movies, there are some aspect of information that we could solely obtain by actually experiencing it.