Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present-day world, many people believe that one country may better its governance when providing food for its citizens and reducing importing food to the lowest. However, I personally think this suggestion has both pros and cons.

On the one hand, independence on food can avoid a food crisis since importing food involves numerous additional costs like logistics or taxations, increasing the national food price significantly. This also directly affects the citizens’ living standards because food becomes more expensive while their wages remain the same. That is why avoiding a food crisis is extremely important. Besides, the unemployment rate will be diminished if a country can produce enough food for their population as farming or agriculture require a considerable amount of labour. Moreover, reducing food imports can improve food quality because several kinds of foodstuffs require preserving chemicals to ascertain their freshness after the importing and transporting process.

On the other hand, in the case of many countries with unsuitable natural conditions like drought or desertification, for example, Japan, Germany, or Egypt, they are incapable of producing food. Hence, cultivating food for all their civilians will require a tremendous amount of money to conduct research and find proper solutions to overcome these natural difficulties. However, in the meantime, that country can save that money and effort to enhance their national strength such as manufacturing or doing scientific research, which can help them easily define their national identity in the global market. Then, through business transactions and trading, they can use that strength to earn more money used to export food in return.

In conclusion, becoming more independent in producing food can have various effects, including positive and negative ones. Therefore, each country has to consider their circumstances throughout to have the wisest option bringing them the most benefits.