Some people support the idea of imposing taxes on fossil fuels ( oil, coal, and gas) in order to reduce energy consumption. Others disagree with this approach.

Consider the debate and its arguments, and come to your own conclusion.

In the new millennium and as a result of industrialization the usage of various types of fossil fuels increased consistently. In such a context, some people, unlike many others, aver that the city-planners should impose higher taxes on these fuels to deter the general public from using oil, coal, and gas. Others, however, disagree entirely mentioning cogent arguments regarding their claim. Nevertheless, there are strong feelings on both sides of the argument which should be considered.

On the one hand, the advocate of enacting higher taxes assert that increasing the cost of fossil fuel could contribute to lower consumption, which considered beneficial for the community. The main reason supporting their claim is the fact that when prices climbing up, the general public has to allocate more fund for fulfilling their needs and consequently it forces them to use less and as far as their financial condition permit.

On the other hand, the opponents of this idea have a multitude of sagacious reasons ranging from social to economical. First and foremost claim appears to be the fact that by increasing the fuels price irrespective of their type the destitute members of society will encounter higher pressure in terms of meeting their energy needs. This can contribute to devastating effects not only for the vulnerable people but also for the well-income citizens. As a case in point, impoverished city-dwellers have to find other alternative methods to pay the expense of their energy usage and this may lead to committing petty crimes. In addition to this, imposing higher taxes on fuels to eliminate their consumption is considered to childish approach. If the citizens do not have any other source of energy involving environmental-friendly energies to select from they inevitably suffer from this unwise law. Besides, some alternative and more effective methods are available to shrink the energy consumption such as raising the awareness of the general public through social media and special campaigns in this regard.

To sum up, according to the aforementioned remarks it is crystal clear that maybe it would be the easiest tactic to increase fossil fuels for reducing their consumption, but it appears that this method could cause unfavorable consequence and could be rejected.