Some people tend to take temporary jobs, for they have the time to do other things. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that these days many people have a tendency to choose momentary occupations so that they can have more spare time to concentrate other things. Despite some obvious drawbacks of this trend, I would argue that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are two major downsides when individuals take short-lived professions. Primarily, a temporary career does not have job security and the employers may be fired any time. They even not only have an unstable income but also do not get the annual salary increments and benefits that regular full time employees get. Take pregnant women as a convincing example. If they take a long-term job, they are entitled to receive paid maternity leave for around 20 weeks. In addition, there will be less chance of career prospects. As a basic incentive system, intrigue employers to work efficiently. Therefore, workers can find no allure of putting a lot of energy and enthusiasm to have their task done. This is likely to have adverse effects on both themselves and the company where they work.

On the other hand, I side with those who believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. Firstly, momentary jobs bring people more flexible time in term of work schedule. That means they can make more time for their beloved as well as spiritual and social values, such as aesthetic values or philanthropic activities. For example, apart from being an English teaching assistant, I am also a volunteer in Hanoi free tour guide organization, where I can help the foreign tourists broaden their horizons about Vietnamese culture and custom. Moreover, by doing temporary work, workers can also get exposure to different kinds of workplace and personalities. This helps them gain their working experience as well as adaptive abilities to a new environment.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential advantages of contemporary jobs are more significant than the possible disadvantages.